Andrew Webb-Mitchell

The English Composer

  • "....his competence as an orchestrator is faultless, over-ridden by his genuine creative gifts. Imagine, if you will, a latter-day Tippett at the outset of his career: it is that good.”
    Matthew Robert-Walker
  • "In Songs of Awe and Wonder, Andrew Webb-Mitchell has created a stunning set of symphonic songs on a grand scale. The music is full of passion and heroism, with glorious harmony and beautiful textures...
  • ....The orchestration is beautifully detailed and the vocal writing creates a soaring line that carries the listener right through the vast canvas of the cycle."
    Tasmin Little OBE
  • "What a work it was! I could go on and on about its beauty, accessibility, anti-modern but still new and different, use of color throughout the ensemble, ...But most importantly... The little touch of magic....
  • ....(the) ability to craft a score that was so intense, thick, and full of rich and challenging parts for every individual instrument..
  • and, at the same time, one that the average patron with little musical background can embrace."
    Robert Trocina, Music Director, Gwinnett Symphony Orchestra
  • “Songs of Awe and Wonder is a beautiful, joyous and uplifting new work by a very accomplished composer....
  • ...Soaring vocal lines, sparkling orchestration and direct, vivid storytelling. A great new work.”
    Michael Price
  • "Andrew Webb Mitchell has produced a remarkable and important work in Songs of Awe and Wonder...
  • ...Dedicated to Gustav Mahler, this is passionate music on a grand scale – a modern day Song of the Earth."
    John Lenehan
  • "There is dream, daring and duende in the poetry of Songs of Awe and Wonder....
  • ...The core of these lyrics is their sheer, stark elegiac power reminding me of how I felt the first time I heard Rilke's Duino Elegies."
    David Morley


Songs of Awe and Wonder – A New Orchestral Song Cycle

21st Jul 2011

We are delighted to have been able to collaborate with the English composer Andrew Webb-Mitchell on the world premiere recording of his orchestral song cycle Songs of Awe and Wonder.

We spent three intense but exhilarating days of rehearsal and recording sessions at our beautiful studio in Brno (Czech Republic) with the fabulous Brno Philharmonic Orchestra and this 65-minute work for soprano, tenor and symphony orchestra in nine movements is now in the editing suite and will be ready for release later this year.

As the programme notes say: “Addressing the general theme of inspiration in many connotations, Songs of Awe and Wonder is a symphonic song cycle in nine movements for soprano, tenor and orchestra. The music is written in a direct and lyrical musical language – contemporary in style yet filled with references to the past. It is a powerful piece, striking in its simplicity yet rich in raw emotion.”

Each movement focuses on an individual inspirational figure from the past from aviation pioneers the Wright Brothers to ballerina Anna Pavlova and composer Edward Elgar.

Click here to read more and see photos from the session.