Andrew Webb-Mitchell

The English Composer

  • "In Songs of Awe and Wonder, Andrew Webb-Mitchell has created a stunning set of symphonic songs on a grand scale. The music is full of passion and heroism, with glorious harmony and beautiful textures."
  • "The orchestration is beautifully detailed and the vocal writing creates a soaring line that carries the listener right through the vast canvas of the cycle."
    Tasmin Little
  • “Songs of Awe and Wonder is a beautiful, joyous and uplifting new work by a very accomplished composer."
  • "Soaring vocal lines, sparkling orchestration and direct, vivid storytelling. A great new work.”
    Michael Price
  • "Andrew Webb Mitchell has produced a remarkable and important work in Songs of Awe and Wonder."
  • "Dedicated to Gustav Mahler, this is passionate music on a grand scale – a modern day Song of the Earth."
    John Lenehan
  • "There is dream, daring and duende in the poetry of Songs of Awe and Wonder."
  • "The core of these lyrics is their sheer, stark elegiac power reminding me of how I felt the first time I heard Rilke's Duino Elegies."
    David Morley
Welcome to the website for Andrew Webb-Mitchell, the English Composer. Here you can browse all his latest news and press articles, as well as find information about his compositions and concert schedule.

Latest News


World and Beijing Premiere Performances at the 2014 Beijing Modern Music Festival

3rd Apr 2014

PRESS RELEASE Beijing, April 3, 2014   Wray Armstrong, Chairman of Armstrong International Music and Arts, Beijing, announced today that British composer Andrew Webb-Mitchell will be one of the featured [...]


Interview with Mika Lintu, Classic Radio Finland

19th Dec 2013

Andrew’s interview with Mika Lintu of  Classic Radio Finland will be broadcast at 1:30pm next Monday, 23 December on Finnish national radio. During his interview, Andrew talked about the inspiration [...]


22nd May 2014

Beijing Concert Hall, Beijing, China

Beijing Modern Music Festival Final Gala Concert. Ruan Yuqun (soprano) and Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra conducted by Hu Yongyan perform the world premiere performance of Dances of Life and Death and the Beijing premiere of The Inspiration of Night from Songs of Awe and Wonder.

More details



Get Adobe Flash player